We are happy to meet with you to evaluate your personal injury or wrongful death case.
The Witherspoon Law Group proudly serves clients throughout Florida, Illinois, Missouri, and Texas. Our personal injury, car accident, and wrongful death attorneys have the experience and dedication needed to win a wide range of complex cases.
Start with a Free Case Evaluation
Hiring a law firm is an important matter, and we will do everything we can to help guide you through the process from start to finish. Reach out to our team for a FREE evaluation on your case. There will be no fees unless you win!
Most frequent questions and answers
Yes. For your protection, you should always call the police after any auto accident that results in an injury. Even relatively minor damage to the cars is enough to involve law enforcement. A police report can be an essential aspect of your auto accident claim.
It is important not to discuss the accident or circumstances leading to the accident with the insurance company, as the insurance adjuster may ask you questions that could impact the decision that will be made about who caused the accident. The insurance company may record these phone conversations and attempt to use them against you so that you are unable to collect compensation for your injuries. Remember, insurance companies try to save money by not paying claims.
Yes and yes. Even as a passenger in the car that caused the accident, you can still file a personal injury claim against the driver of the car in which you were riding. If the accident was the other driver’s fault, you can file a claim against that driver.
It is not uncommon for car accident victims to have difficulties coping with expenses related to emergency care and long-term treatment. Even people with health insurance can have a hard time digesting large medical bills that can be hundreds or thousands of dollars. While a financial recovery from the at-fault party can help you pay these bills, it is not immediate. This is a fact that many physicians and healthcare providers understand. Oftentimes, a physician will treat you on the promise of payment from the settlement or verdict. We can help you find medical professionals that are willing to work with your situation until your case is resolved.
There is a statute of limitations regarding personal injury claims. For most injury claims, in Texas, Missouri and Illinois, this time is 2 years from the date of the accident or injury. In Florida, this time limit is generally 4 years from the date of the accident or injury. Therefore, it is important to follow up with medical appointments if you have been injured. Medical treatment both helps you recover from your injuries and provides documentation of those injuries so that a claim can be brought on your behalf. After the statute of limitations expires, you may be unable to file a claim or lawsuit at all.
All injury cases are different. There are many factors that are involved in determining the value of a case. Some of those factors include: the severity of your injuries; the length of time of your total and/or partial disability; the amount of your past and future medical bills; the amount of damage to the cars (if applicable); and the amount of lost wages as a result of the accident. If you are partially liable for the accident/injury, your case will be worth substantially less depending on the percentage of your liability or fault in the accident. A personal injury lawyer can thoroughly investigate your accident and injuries to determine what a fair case value may be and then pursue that amount through a claim or a lawsuit.
Although the amount offered may seem like enough to pay for your injuries, it is still important to consult a personal injury attorney regarding your accident and claim. For instance, what if you accepted the settlement but had a further complication arise from your injury? Would you be able to collect again on an already settled claim? What if it is too soon to know the full extent of your injuries? The insurance company is likely acting in a manner which is meant to save the company money and offer you the lowest settlement possible. By having an attorney review your case, you can find out if the settlement offer is fair and make an informed decision. It is our goal to provide you with excellent legal representation that will help you collect the compensation you deserve for the injuries you have suffered.
Negligent security is a type of premises liability claim in which a person injured or killed by an attacker while on another person’s property seeks a financial recovery from the property owner.
Apartment complexes, nightclubs, hotels, restaurants, stores, etc. may be found liable for negligent security if they failed to provide reasonable security measures to keep safe individuals who are on their property. Was there no security guard? Was the gate broken? Was the parking lot too dark? Were there surveillance cameras?
Call us and let us evaluate your claim. We represent victims of sexual assault, shootings, and other violent attacks.
Most states recognize that the owner of the property owes a duty to its tenants, customers, or visitors to take reasonable steps to protect against criminal attacks.
In many states, the court will use a balancing test to determine what is a reasonable according to the facts of the specific case. The court will weigh the likelihood of an attack and the potential for harm against the burden imposed on the property owner to provide the protection. Reasonable protection may include something as minor as a security camera or fence or something as expensive as hiring a security contractor and providing on-site security guards.
When involved in a slip, trip, or fall accident you should try to take as many of the following steps as possible to assist in the success of your case:
- If injured, call 911 and seek prompt medical attention.
- Avoid making any statements, including statements concerning fault.
- Request that an incident report be completed and get a copy of the report.
- If you are able, take pictures and/or video of the scene or ask someone to do it for you.
- Take pictures of your injuries and the clothing and shoes you were wearing at the time of the fall.
- Obtain the names of any witnesses and their contact information.
- Avoid giving recorded statement to anyone, including insurance adjusters.
- If injured, seek an attorney to protect your rights.
There is no upfront cost to you. The important thing to keep in mind is that we work on a contingency basis, so you will only pay legal fees if you win your case.